Congressman LaMalfa Announces Assignments to House Committees


(Washington, D.C.) – Today, Congressman Doug LaMalfa (R – Richvale) announced that he has been selected to serve on three House Committees for the 118th Congress.

Congressman LaMalfa will return to the House Agriculture Committee and was appointed to preside over the Subcommittee on Forestry as Chairman where he will have jurisdiction over the USDA Forest Service and private forest lands, Farm Bill authorities and programs pertaining to the Forestry title, proposed forestry regulations, the Forest Service 10-year wildfire strategy, and new funding and authorities provided by Congress to the Forest Service. Additionally, he was selected to serve on the Subcommittee on General Farm Commodities, Risk Management, and Credit. Congressman LaMalfa will also be returning to the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, serving on three subcommittees: Water Resources and the Environment; Highways and Transit; and Railroads, Pipelines, and Hazardous Materials.

Congressman LaMalfa will rejoin the House Committee on Natural Resources, which he last served on in 2019. He will serve on the Subcommittees on Water, Wildlife, and Fisheries; and the Subcommittee on Indian and Insular Affairs, which he previously presided over as Chairman in the 115th Congress.

“From utilizing our natural resources responsibly, to reducing the cost of food for consumers, and fixing our supply chain, there is a lot to be done, and I am hopeful that through my work on all three committees, we make significant progress forward. These three committees in particular cover essential cornerstones of Nor Cal, rural America, and our rural economies. I’m pleased to be able to take a leadership role in addressing California’s and our nation’s most pressing problems,” said Congressman LaMalfa.

Congressman Doug LaMalfa is a lifelong farmer representing California’s First Congressional District, including Butte, Colusa, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Shasta, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama and Yuba Counties.